Japan Media Arts Festival  

Summary of Entries

The entry period for submission of works to the 20th Japan Media Arts Festival ended on September 9, 2016. As in previous years, the festival drew an enthusiastic response, with a total of 4,034 works submitted. Overseas entries represented an all-time record of 87 countries and regions. With this level of interest from around the globe, the Japan Media Arts Festival continues to evolve as an international competition that broadly showcases the modernistic forms of expression and diversity of the Media Arts.

  • Total number
  • Entries from Abroad

Total number: 4,034

Art Division

Interactive art: 202
Media installations: 256
Video works: 660
Video installations: 207
Graphic art: 701
Internet art: 83
Media performances: 95
Total: 2,204

Entertainment Division

Games: 81
Video / sound works: 225
Multimedia productions: 79
Gadgets, electronic devices: 68
Websites: 53
Application software: 32
Total: 568

Animation Division

Animated feature films
Animated series: 69
Animated short films: 559
Total: 628

Manga Division

Comics published in book form
Comics published in a magazine: 521
Comics published online: 53
Self-published comics: 60
Total: 634

Entries from Abroad: 2,249 works from 87 countries and regions

(last year's festival received 2,216 works from 86 countries and regions)

Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Ghana, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kosovo, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, Palestinian Authority, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sudan, Sweden, Syria, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam (Alphabetical order)

back to top